WhatsApp received a disappearing message 10 days ago and has been adopted by two other messaging-enabled apps in the Facebook family. Both Messenger and Instagram get vanish mode to delete messages when the conversation window is closed.
Disappearance mode is activated by swiping from the bottom of the chat. When a message is sent, it stays on the screen until it is turned off or the app switches. Of course, you can always take a screenshot before the message disappears.
This new feature works for both group chats and personal conversations. They disappear instantly, but Facebook has revealed that they can report the conversation. This means that the conversation will remain on the system for up to 14 days and will not be deleted immediately.
Such features are nothing new in the Facebook world. Messenger still has a “secret conversation”, but it’s pretty tedious to set up and use, and no one has the time to do it. Instagram also has a feature that disappears. Currently, you can send a photo and set it to disappear once you see it, but unless you cancel the transmission, the message will not show anything.