Now You Cannot upload unlimited images and videos on Google Photos, Here’s Details-Techweu

Now You Cannot upload unlimited images and videos on Google Photos, Here's Details-Techweu
- Advertisement -

One of the key features of Google Photos was a free unlimited photo and video uploads and compressed backups. Google has announced that this feature will be discontinued on June 1, 2021.

Starting June 1st, all files uploaded to Google Photos will count towards the 15GB default storage you get for each new Google account. If you have a Google One subscription, it will count towards that subscription.

-Advertisement-

google photos ads new controls

Previously, only images uploaded with the uncompressed “original” quality preset were counted in the storage space, and images uploaded with the compressed “high” quality preset were free. From June 1st, all images will be treated as equivalent.

There are a few things to consider here. First, all images uploaded before June 1, 2021, will not be counted. This change applies only to images uploaded after the date.

This does not mean that you will have to pay immediately on June 1, 2021. If you’re not using the completely free 15 GB that comes with every Google account, you can continue uploading until it’s full. When that happens, you can choose to subscribe to one of your Google One plans if you plan to continue uploading.

Now You Cannot upload unlimited images and videos on Google Photos, Here's Details-Techweu

However, if you haven’t used the service for more than two years, or if you haven’t used your storage limit for more than two years, Google may remove content across multiple services.

If you have a Pixel smartphone, you will continue to receive free unlimited backups of your photos and videos for a specified period of time.

In June 2021, Google will provide a tool to manage your backed up photos and videos and choose what you want to keep and what you want to delete. This tool automatically highlights content you don’t want to keep, such as dark or blurry photos or large videos.

This change applies to all users of Google Photos on all platforms, including Android, iOS, and desktop.

Source

- Advertisement -